Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Becoming Enlightened

"The Large Sutra on Perfect Wisdom claims that the Six Perfections are "bases for training."  This means that they constitute a series of practices or "trainings" that guide practitioners toward the goal of enlightenment or awakening.  These six "trainings" are the means or methods to that all-important end.  But the perfections are much more than techniques.  The are also the most fundamental dimensions of the goal of enlightenment.  Enlightenment is defined in terms of these six qualities of human character; together they constitute the essential qualities of that ideal human state.  The perfections, therefore, are the ideal, not just the means to it.  Being generous, morally aware, tolerant, energetic, meditative, and wise is what it means for a Buddhist to be enlightened.  If perfection in these six dimensions of human character is the goal, the enlightenment, understood in this Buddhist sense, would also be closely correlate to these particular practices.  Recognizing this, one sutra says, "Enlightenment jus is the path and the path is enlightenment.:  To be moving along the path of self-cultivation by developing the Six Perfections is the very meaning of "enlightenment.""
-  Dale S. Wright, The Six Perfections, p. 4

The Ten Paramitas:  Transformational Practices for Realizing an Enlightened Heart-Mind

Advice from Wise Persons   



  1. Recommend Norman Fischers' "Training in Compassion" to smooth out the search for enlightenment.

  2. Thanks for the good suggestion.